Introduction of United-Provinces
Formed in 1579 by the Treaty of Utrecht, whichjoined together the seven Protestant provinces ofFriesland , Gelderland , Groningen, Holland ,Overijssel, Utrecht, and Zeeland . This eventmarked the separation of the Netherland s from theSpanish Netherland s, which remained in Hapsburghand s. Although the United Provinces declaredindependence in 1581, the state was not recognizedby the major European powers until the Treaty ofWestphalia in 1648.

United-Provinces Images