Introduction of Sucre
The constitutional capital, 260 mi SE of La Paz, which is the actual legislative capital as part of a compromise settlement following civil war over the removal of the capital from here in 1898. Founded as Chuquisaca in 1538, it was the scene on May 25, 1809, of the outbreak of the Bolivian revolt against Spanish rule.

Renamed in 1840 in honor of the first president of Bolivia, it is the seat of the national supreme court and of the University of San Francisco Xavier, founded c.

1625, which specializes in law. It is known as City of Four Names; Charcas was the name of an Indian tribe that originally inhabited the area.

Sucre Images